top of page

My Commute: River Trails

I bought a bike the other day so I can get to work on muscle power. It takes me about half an hour to peddle to work, which is good for my body, but the real reason I like it is because its good for my soul. Instead of biking to work on the crowded and dangerous streets, I enjoy a beautiful ride along Seoul's many peaceful, winding river trails.

The entrance to the river trail = 3 blocks from my appartment

Take a look on Google Earth and you'll notice that every river and stream in the greater Seoul area is usually lined on both sides by a pedestrian/bike trail. There are hundreds of miles of these interconnected trails. No matter where you live, you can't help but be near one!

One of the most charming things about these trails is the stepping-stones that provide a way across (although there are also plenty of bridges)

Stepping stones over hte river

There are so many cool things about these trails that I don't even know where to begin. Let's start with the fact that they provide a much needed habitat for wildlife. Along the trails you'll see herons, ducks, egrets, and carp.

Patient heron

Not-so-patient carp

These trails also provide some important habitat for humans. As fun as it is to be able to find anything you could want within a 5 minute walk from your home, it's still important to be able to enjoy some open green space. And let me tell you, the Koreans do love these trails! Everywhere you go on these trails you'll find people walking, biking, strolling their babies, or riding in electric wheelchairs. During the hot afternoon hours people congregate in the shade of the bridges where the roads go over. I often see families sitting on the banks watching their children play in the shallow water, catching things in their nets. Today I saw a lady sitting on a blanket and knitting under one, and then a group of four people in electric wheelchairs under another.

Under the road way

You also see a lot of people exercising along the trails. About every mile along the trails you'll find an exercise station with a dozen or so machines, and beleive me - they get used! And for those who don't want to use the machines, the river trails provide a peaceful place for yoga - either individually, or in groups.

My favorite thing is the children's wading pools. In several places there are river-fed, stone bottomed wading pools that are packed every afternoon with happy children and their parents.

I guess what I am trying to communicate is that I love the way the people here managed to set aside such a vast and beautiful stretch of real estate and gift it to the people and animals to enjoy forever. When you are on these trails you feel a sense of peace and serenity, and you forget that you are in the middle of the third largest metropolitan area on the planet.

So where is the city?

A trail-side picnic shelter

I love my commute!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page